Planetary Aspects: Square

Square: Three signs apart
90 degrees apart
Energy: Tension, conflict, power struggles

Uh-oh! When two planets are square, it’s a tug o’ war extraordinaire. Get ready for a showdown or a battle of wills, as each side digs its heels in and resists the necessary compromise. Yet, to resolve the stress of a square, each side must give a little and meet the other in the middle. Stubbornness ensues—the (cosmic) struggle is real!

Squares happen when two planets are 90 degrees apart. They share the same astrological “quality” (cardinal, mutable or fixed), but nothing else.

For example, say expansive Jupiter was in analytical, micromanaging Virgo—forming a square to love-planet Venus in adventurous, caution-to-the-wind Sagittarius. On the one hand, your controlling tendencies might be off the charts thanks to Jupiter in Virgo, as you overanalyze every word your lover says, or obsess over a play-by-play of your last date. But at the same time, Venus in Sagittarius makes you ignore all the red flags, tempting you to rush off to the Elvis chapel in Las Vegas and marry someone you barely know.

Hello, head-trip!

During squares, we can work ourselves into this kind of a tizzy, vacillating between wild extremes. Squares are NOT a good time to make major decisions—although sometimes the “breaking point” energy of a square forces a change. Your best use of a square is to weigh the pros and cons, get all the conflicts out onto the table, negotiate and COMPROMISE.

If your birth chart has squares in it, this will reveal conflicting parts of your nature that will have to be resolved through self-reflection, discipline and personal growth work. Your natal chart squares also show where you may struggle for balance in your life.

When three planets form a square, it’s called a T-Square. When four planets form a square (a rare event), it’s called a Grand Cross or Grand Square.

Which signs are square to each other?

Aries: Cancer, Capricorn
Taurus: Leo, Aquarius
Gemini: Virgo, Pisces
Cancer: Libra, Aries
Leo: Scorpio, Taurus
Virgo: Sagittarius, Gemini
Libra: Capricorn, Cancer
Scorpio: Aquarius, Leo
Sagittarius: Pisces, Virgo
Capricorn: Aries, Libra
Aquarius: Taurus, Scorpio
Pisces: Gemini, Sagittarius

See more planetary aspects >